Days Off

I’m not a super social person.  My Sundays are usually spent sleeping in, creating and eating a glorious breakfast, lounging & cleaning, going to dance class, a bit of cooking for the week, and lots of homework.  Today was slightly different – there was no homework involved.  What? Yes.  I still have two more days off school for silly national holidays, so I took the day to just chill a bit.  I wish I could say I went to an awesome party or something, but the things I do aren’t generally that exciting.

Saturday’s fast went rather well (I slept most of the day), and I broke my fast that evening with some Jewish deli food – bagels, etc.  And about an hour after I was hungry again, so a friend and I went to 16 handles, for $8 worth of self-serve froyo.  I wish I had taken a picture!

Today was much of the same Sunday routine, except I decided to go on a little adventure – with or without company.  It was actually really nice to walk just walk around the city by myself.  I didn’t have to worry about timing, or anyone else – and I did some quality people watching and photographing.  I’ll let the pictures do the talking:

IMG 2472

breakfast - buckwheat blender cereal with walnuts & (the last of) homemade pumpkin butter

IMG 2475

second breakfast? sprouted toast w/ PB and fresh figs

IMG 2477

gear for my little adventure: water, snackage, comfy shoes, lululemon mini-backpack

IMG 2546

I went to the High Line Park! It's an old rail track that's no longer in use, and was converted into an elevated park.

IMG 2489

the standard hotel at the high line - this building is right on it! some great views 🙂

IMG 2490

Of course, I stopped for a green juice, as there was a juice bar right by the stairs to the park. Perfectly refreshing!

IMG 2495

Life on the park, right under the hotel

IMG 2499

14th St. from above

IMG 2505

...quality people watching...

IMG 2514

Gelato on the high line - this place looked so good! But I wasn't in the mood, and didn't have enough cash. Next time.

IMG 2537

the tracks are still in tact, they did the landscaping around them

IMG 2544

more cool buildings

IMG 2545

...and a green elevator?

IMG 2533

the best part - sunset over the Hudson River. Oh hey, New Jersey!

I also did a bit of cooking 🙂  Which recipe to post first… one with squash? or with chocolate…

Did you do / cook / eat anything interesting this weekend?

Do you ever go on solo adventures?

7 thoughts on “Days Off

  1. That looks like a perfect day right there. Love all the photos! I’m not very social either, and so a day of walking around and eating good food is how I’d prefer to spend a day off too.
    I’m glad to hear your fast went well. I’m impressed by the 8 dollars worth of fro-yo. Yum!

  2. These are such pretty photos, some of those buildings are pretty nuts! I am also a person who prefers to be alone and goes on solo adventures quite often. I can’t decide if this is a “good” thing or not, the fact that I like being alone more often than not… but for now I think it is just fine

  3. Pingback: The Race and the Recipe | Eat, Learn, Discover.

Leave a Reply

