Local Crop & Miracle Oats

First of all, thanks so much for the support on my last post.  It really means a lot!

Onto the important stuff – it’s friday!  Which means I get to relax a bit for a day or two.  I finished my first fullybooked week of classes, and I finally feel like I’m getting back into the swing of things.  Unfortunately that also means lots of stress, and many late nights doing homework.  But I tell myself that it will eventually pay off, once I figure out what I want to do with my life.  But that’s a discussion for another time.

I haven’t done any real workout updates lately, so here are some highlights: I ended the week (on thursday evening) with my favorite modern dance class.  We’re working on a dance now that is really fast, and cardio intensive.  It takes serious athleticism, and I love it.  It makes me feel really great to know that I can now push my body to move like that, with precision and speed. We have another 3 classes to work on this choreography, and I love it.  I do miss pilates, though I guess it’s a good trade-off.

Somehow, I managed to get myself to the gym again this morning – by 10:30, haha! I did an awesome-ly sweaty 30 min cardio session, and some heavy lifting for legs, glutes, back and shoulders.  It was glorious.  Tomorrow will be a rest day, and holy sore-quads I’m looking forward to it.

You may be thinking “did she not discover any new loves this week?!” Nope, not the case – this week’s new loves:

1. The local, organic food co-op, only blocks away from my dorm!

IMG 2306

a bunch of collards, fresh ginger, kabocha, bulk nooch, and the best golden apples ever

I got all of this for under $10, and that wasn’t even with the co-op member’s discount.  I don’t know whether I want to pay for the membership.  I could pay less money and work there 2.25 hours a week for a 20% discount, but they already have really great prices for seasonal, local, organic produce.

2. An overnight-oat miracle

IMG 2316

coffee and oatmeal = love

Wednesday night, I decided I wanted oats for breakfast the next morning, but did not want to take the time to make them in the morning.  So I made a batch of voluminous oats on the stove Wednesday night, and covered the pot to let it soak overnight.  Little did I know – it saved my thursday!  I barely woke up in time to make it to class on time, and definitely did not have time to eat or even make coffee before I left!

I tossed the oats into a ball jar, grabbed a snack bar to hold me over and ran to class, still only half-awake.  Longest. Class. Ever!

But, I went to Think Coffee after, and sat down with a soy café-au-lait, and my jar of plain old oats.  Better late than never.

3. The egg bake.

IMG 2318

cooked in my mid-size round glass pyrex, perfectly golden brown

Inspired by Ashley’s recipe.  I threw together some quinoa, egg, random veggies and spices, and baked away!

IMG 2325

smothered in salsa!

Delicious, filling one-dish lunch.

4. Autumn is here, despite the 70+ degree temperatures.

IMG 2329

our kitchen smelled amazing after this. a crisp big enough to feed 8+ people! or 4 really hungry people...

My suite-mate’s mother sent her some sour apples, fresh from their garden in California.  She wanted apple crisp, and asked me to help her make one.  Of course I said yes!  Those apples made for a fantastic crumble.

IMG 2335

I had my serving with a dollop of coconut cream, straight out of the can

Well, that’s it for this week. I don’t really have big plans for the weekend – other than sleeping, relaxing, hanging with some friends, and (*sigh*) doing my homework.

What are your weekend plans?

Have you even unintentionally planned ahead? thank goodness for overnight oats!

Do you shop local/organic/seasonal?

4 thoughts on “Local Crop & Miracle Oats

  1. I’m so jealous of your kabocha!!! I just had my first one ever. It’s way too good and I think about it all the time now that it’s gone. I can only get it in the city though! I am totally stocking up next time. Im also really jealous of that apple crisp. Definitely one of my favorite desserts ever!!

Leave a Reply

