Kale Kraving

I’m loving all the cookie love around here!

It’s safe to say not too much has changed since my last update.  If you missed my latest posts:

Today was the first day of classes! The classes themselves went pretty well, mostly introductions and syllabi.  My hatred for college administration, however, is ever-growing – but that is not something to dwell on.

After I got home from classes today, I did an awesome 3.2 miles on the treadmill.  Legs were a bit tight (I blame yesterday’s leg weights session) but otherwise felt great!  Tired, but no pain – shins, knees, ankles, foot, all good.  I’m still not sure if my running form is correct, though.  I wish there was a way to have your gait analyzed without having to pay or buy new shoes.

In other news, something very strange has happened lately.  I’ve craved kale.  Not just salad, lettuce, or leafy things, specifically, raw kale.  If there are any naturopaths out there, does this mean something?  Well, regardless, this is a craving I was sure to not let pass without being satisfied!

I started with kale chips!

IMG 1923

kale chips, with a side of tofu-hummus wrap

Standard kale-chip recipe, with a really awesome red pepper sauce!

IMG 1914

have I mentioned how much I love TJ's?

Fiery Red Pepper Sauce:

  • 1 Trader Joe’s Fire Roasted Red Pepper
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 t spices – I used TJ’s smoky blend and cayenne pepper
  • 2 T rice vinegar (or apple cider vinegar)
  • 1 T oil (olive, sunflower, canola)
  • 4 drops liquid stevia

Dump all the ingredients into a standard blender, and let it run until smooth and creamy.  I used my lovely Bullet’s short cup!

IMG 1915

This sauce is great massaged into the kale then baked or dehydrated.

IMG 1917

raw goodness...

IMG 1919

...to this! these didn't last a day.

Or if you’re hardcore raw, just massage it into the kale leaves, let it sit for a few minutes and enjoy it as a salad.

As delicious as it was, even that wasn’t enough to conquer my kale craving.  I went for a salad best tonight.

IMG 1925

avocado-massaged kale on the bottom! with carrots, tomatoes, spinach...

IMG 1924

...kraut, hummus and hemp seeds on top! sprinkled with a little extra vinegar for wilting.

Satisfied.  I can hold off on the kale for a few days now.

What kinds of foods do you crave? Any really weird ones?

12 thoughts on “Kale Kraving

  1. I think you should definitely look into getting your gait analyzed. if you can correct your form, you’ll run faster and more economically, and you won’t be at risk for as many injuries! The ones they do when you buy shoes aren’t even that thorough… definitely look into one where they look at how your foot lands, how you follow through, etc. Otherwise I can give you some tips on what you want to be doing.
    I crave cold things. I haven’t had a warm meal in ages! I eat tons of things frozen (baked goods, granola bars), I freeze my yogurt messes or at least make them really chilly, and I’ve been making cold salads too. Maybe that will change when the weather changes.

  2. Pingback: Conquering Cravings | Eat, Learn, Discover.

Leave a Reply

