Cashew Crazy

I’m feeling rather less-than-motivated these days – though all the lovely comments on my latest update and weekly eats.  I hate being a downer! But I have made a few delicious things in the past few days that are just itching to be posted.

Like…

IMG 1216

straining a cheezy sauce

and

IMG 1231

Almond cupcakes, cashew crème frosting

but these didn’t turn out so well, so maybe I’ll share when I revamp a bit.  But I tend to abandon recipes that get me down, unless I am somehow really determined to make it work.  I guess I have a short recipe-attention span. ha!

and best of all

IMG 1246

creamy dreamy cashewy goodness

Do you feel sufficiently teased yet? 😀

After seeing some recipes floating around the blog world, I finally decided to make my own…

Vegan Cheezy Sauce

  • 1 cup cashews, soaked at least 1 hour
  • 1/2 cup chia gel (not completely necessary, but adds a nice texture if you want)
  • 1/4 cup (or more) nutritional yeast
  • juice of 1/2 small lemon
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • a dash of salt

Directions: toss it all in a blender or food processor and blend away! If it’s too liquidy, strain the mixture through a cheesecloth until you ge the consistency you want.

Serve with tacos!

IMG 1218

recycled photo 😦

or smother it on some sliced tempeh and bake until golden brown!

IMG 1241

or just grab some fresh veggies and dip away 🙂

And now, for the best thing I’ve created in a very long time!

IMG 1243

like my little reminder?

Vanilla Bean Coconut Cashew Butter

(makes a lot. Like I needed more than 1 jar.)

  • 1 lb bag of cashews
  • 1/2 cup coconut butter
  • 1 vanilla bean (not optional!)

Directions: If you want to go raw, just toss it all in the food processor and blend until creamy and smooth.

IMG 1244

I'd eat this stuff just like this!

If you’re really ambitious, make your own raw coconut butter (I had extra on hand).  Use shredded coconut and blend until creamy – then add the cashews and vanilla bean.  Otherwise, roast your cashews at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes, and let cool for at least 10 minutes.  Then process, scraping down the sides occasionally.

IMG 1247

stupid shadows. you can always tell when I'm cooking at night...

This is the creamiest, dreamiest, most delicious nut butter… dare I say it?ever. Well, that I’ve ever made.

IMG 1248

I filled more than one jar! I'll probably kidnap this stuff when I leave in a few weeks.

IMG 1250

favorite part - "cleaning" the food processor!

IMG 1249

feast your eyes, foodies 🙂

Seriously, go do it.

Yes, I went a little cashew – crazy.  But it was fun! Do you have any favorite cashew recipes to share with me? I’d love to hear 🙂

What’s your favorite homemade nut butter?

What ingredient should I experiment with next?

11 thoughts on “Cashew Crazy

  1. That nut butter sounds like heaven in a jar. Coconut, cashews and vanilla? Wow. And yay for cheezy sauce! I eat that stuff by the spoonful.
    Favorite homemade nut butter: maple cinnamon almond
    Ingredient to experiment with: coconut flour. I don’t know if you have any, but I’m always looking for more uses for it.

  2. Okay for no good reason I have never made cashew butter! I love cashews though so I mist give this a try asap 🙂
    I am sorry you are feeling a bit blah 😦 Just try to find things that make YOU happy whatever that entails

  3. Oh my gosh, that sounds sooo good. I’m not a huge fan of the coconut butter on it’s on… I know, crazy right? I think it needs more substance, so this would be perfect. The addition of vanilla bean makes it a million times better!!

    • I’m working on the recipe for those, definitely have to tweak it. But yes! you can buy a plain ‘ole vanilla bean at pretty much any grocery store, but they’re not terribly cheap. the best place to get them is in the bulk section at Whole Foods or your local health food store!

Leave a Reply

