Foodie Adventures with Erin – Marin County

[[disclaimer – long post, lots of pictures and ramblings]]

I can’t believe my trip is over!  Its been filled with some amazing sights, horrible sunburns, amazing food, family and my fantabulous friend Erin (seriously, check her out, she’s dome some amazing things for the world!).  This has been one of the most relaxing, fun trips I’ve been on, and I think in part I owe it to my lack of planning.  I made a promise to myself at the beginning of the trip that I would have no expectations and no plans.  It made everything so much more relaxing.

Marin County was so gorgeous, I was sad to say goodbye.  Here’s a bit of a recap, but I’ll skip most of the scenery pics and get to the good stuff.

One of the first places I went when I got there was a little market called Good Earth.  They get everything local and organic, and I’ve never seen anything like it!

IMG 0798

IMG 0800

amazing bulk and nut butter sections.

IMG 0801

HUGE raw section, including…

IMG 0802

That night, we went to dinner at a place called Insalata’s (fresh healthy italian), where Erin works as a hostess.  I was instructed by almost everyone that works there that I had to get the fattoush salad. So I did, and it was delicious! Loved the fresh mint in there.

IMG 0812

After a lovely night of catching up (I hadn’t seen her for any length of time for over a year), we went to a late lunch the next morning at her favorite Marin brunch spot, Half Day Cafe.

IMG 0815

Mine – five great grains with fresh fruit and cinnamon (and a little soymilk)

IMG 0817

Hers – for the gluten-free vegan, a strawberry banana parfait without the yogurt.

We then headed out for a little road trip to Sonoma county – Napa Valley!

IMG 0823

Amazing, adorable local olive oil shop.  They had an amazing Butternut squash pasta sauce, which I would have bought had it been travel-appropriate. After a little shopping, we headed to a late lunch at Farmstead.

IMG 0838

IMG 0844

mine – massaged kale salad, and roasted zucchini with soft cheese.

IMG 0840

Hers – caramelized beets with arugula, and risotto (not pictured)

After lunch, we walked around the Greystone Culinary Institute of America shop, admired all the cookbooks and fun kitchen gadgets, and shared one little handmade chocolate truffle.

IMG 0855

By the time we finally got back to her house, it was late, but we were hungry again!  We wanted something light, and I really wanted some of her butternut squash pasta sauce.  We decided on light, easy and raw – zucchini noodles!

IMG 0877

IMG 0880

with butternut squash sauce, tomatoes, toasted pine nuts, and fresh basil.  Hit the spot, none of us could stop talking about it all through the meal!

After dinner, we did a bit of gluten-free / vegan baking – but that’s a story for another time 🙂

IMG 0894

The next morning, I was more than happy to make my breakfast again!

IMG 0897

Oats-n-chia with banana, strawberries, raw AB, a drizzle of maple syrup, and cinnamon.

After breakfast, we headed out to the market, and a street fair!

IMG 0904

we had some blackberry-chocolate and strawberry sorbet

IMG 0906

and bought the biggest, freshest tasting almonds ever!

IMG 0913

only in Marin, would they have black bean sliders and sweet ‘tater fries at a street fair!

Then, it was off for a scenic drive, and then to the beach!

IMG 0925

coconut cupcake with cream cheese frosting from Comforts – eaten in the car,

IMG 0934

IMG 0933

and the best Chinese lunch salad ever, eaten at the gorgeous Stinson Beach.

IMG 0935

double-fisting farmers market peaches at the beach? That’s how I roll.

At this point, I had been in California for 4+ days and still not had real mexican food! This had to change.  Erin took me to her favorite ‘dirty mexican’ place, right under the freeway.

IMG 0970

Dirty mexican, the clean, vegan way! So good, so fresh.  After dinner, time for more baking!

IMG 0977

super-easy berry & nectarine crisp with vanilla rice-cream!  Recipes at a later date 🙂

On my last day, I had to go out with one more fantastic meal – from a local favorite called Cafe del Soul.  All really good, clean food.

IMG 0979

quinoa with black beans, avocado & grape tomatoes in a lime-cilantro dressing.  De-lish!

*phew*

That was long – for those of you that got through it all, thanks for reading!  Otherwise I apologize for the epic-ness, I did not want to get too far behind in my regular posting.

Is there anywhere in the world you would want to live, just for the food? California is looking pretty good to me!

12 thoughts on “Foodie Adventures with Erin – Marin County

  1. Definitely Italy. Verona is great – every lucnch and dinner they start you out with proseco, and it gets better from there!
    Dad

  2. My favorite type of food is Indian food, but it’s so heavy I don’t think I could live off of it happily. Any place that has a lot of organic, fresh, vegetarian options is good for me. If I can get into Berkeley for graduate school I will be the happiest camper in the world, though this summer is opening up my eyes to so many International options for school it’s unbelievable, but that’s another topic. All of you pictures look amazing, btw do you have a blender we can use for smoothies/ice”cream” ? I have a food processor so we could always use that…

  3. holy foodie goodness. the nut butter wall, the sorbet, the cupcakes… oh my gosh it all looks so good. I want to go to Cali for college partially because of the amazing food. We went on college visits out there in the spring and it was AMAZING!

  4. Pingback: Inspiration and Baking « Eat, Learn, Discover.

  5. Pingback: The Race and the Recipe | Eat, Learn, Discover.

  6. Pingback: Inspiration and Baking | Eat, Learn, Discover

Leave a Reply

