Friday Finds, Travel Edition

…brought to you from Marin County, California where I’m staying with my lovely friend Erin!

athlete’s fashion discovery: adidas Climacool shoes.

IMG 0497

These make great multi-directional cross trainers, are super comfortable and most importantly – my feet can breathe!  I’ve never been one to wear sneakers on a daily basis because my feet always get too hot.  So far they’ve been really great on my trip, and are super light and travel really easily.  I know I’ve been told that adidas’ functional shoes are crap. but oh well.  They were on sale, so if they don’t last long I won’t be heatbroken.

Trader Joe’s discovery: this probably falls into the foodie category, but there were a few things I found at TJ’s this week that I wanted to share.

IMG 0496

Now that’s an oxymoron for you.  The texture is somewhere between regular steel-cut oats and oat bran. Delicious.

IMG 0499

This was a pre-workout breakfast, for a late start day.  Oats with honey & cinnamon, and coffee with organic soymilk.

IMG 0465

I love that TJ’s now has a chocolate bar with over 80% cacao! Or maybe they’ve had it for a while, I just haven’t noticed.

IMG 0519

Frozen berry blend – with cherries! I used it the other day to make a berry cherry chocolatey not-so-green monster.

IMG 0521

also in the bowl:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup coconut milk liquid (I’ll get to that)
  • 1 cup frozen berries
  • 1 cup (ish) frozen spinach
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • chia seeds on top, for a little crunch

This leads to my next discovery.

foodie-discovery: full fat coconut milk.

IMG 0517

IMG 0516

I’m not going to lie, I’m still afraid of full fat foods, mainly because I still don’t know the effect they have on my body.  I still think I have to be careful not to eat too much of these, as I still haven’t gotten this recent weight gain under control.  But will enjoy these foods anyway – all about moderation.

I bought this originally to make a coconut-cream topping for what was going to be my strawberry cupcakes, but it failed – I forgot to pour out the liquid the first time.  This week, I decided to try again.  Unfortunately this one failed too! I don’t know whether the coconut cream got too warm then separated, or whether it was the vanilla I added that caused it to do so. I tend to get really down when my experiments don’t work twice in a row.  But mom had a great idea! We had strawberries and coconut …sauce (?) with fresh mint from the green city market, and it was delicious.  A great send-off dessert, the night before an early flight.

IMG 0528

Eventually, I’ll have a coconut cream topping recipe for you. It will happen.

travel discoveries: This is by no means a roundup of my trip, just a few snippets for this post.  [[expect full recap posts to come!]] maps of san francisco are seriously misleading.  Something that appears be only 3 or 4 blocks away, could be 3 or 4 blocks up a hill!  Needless to say, my worries of getting enough exercise on this trip were quickly dispelled.  Some streets even have stairs.

IMG 0599

I love all the little independent coffee shops scattered throughout the city.  I’m not sure if I’ve already said this, but I do love a really good cup of coffee.  Starbucks and I have pretty much ended our relationship, unless I want something really fancy.

This morning I looked up nearby cafés (thank you, Google Maps) in search of a little place for a latte.  The place I decided on was about 4 blocks away, a nice little walk. I got about a block and a half away, and found another little place!

IMG 0775

Perfect. Best soy latte I’ve had in a while.

Things I love about CA: So much amazing, organic produce.  Actually, so much amazing, organic everything!  As much as I love Chicago, the people in general seem to be a bit behind the times when it comes to health and sustainability.  It’s definitely not impossible (case in point, all the amazing food and things I’ve found there), but here it’s effortless.  I love vacation!

Where you live, how easy is it to find fresh, healthy foods and sustainable products?

5 thoughts on “Friday Finds, Travel Edition

  1. I swear I am on Trader Joe’s withdrawal. That is going to be the first place I go after unpacking in August … okay maybe Meyer will be first … stupid stockholm syndrome. There’s a really good health food store near my apartment here, but it’s pretty expensive, and there’s not really one in Lancaster. Oh wait there is, it’s called Rhubarbs, I just never go there cause we basically grow most of what we eat over the summer.

    I am jealous of your trip to SF, I promise you I will live there someday. Fingers crossed for Berkeley.

Leave a Reply

