Firsts and Favorites

There are so many things to write about, where do I start? At the beginning – breakfast!

I tried my first breakfast pizzert, one of Katie’s fabulous vegan health-ified dessert recipes.

IMG 0268

I halved the recipe, and it was more than enough to fill me up, even after a heavy lifting workout.  I made it with a bit of stevia, mashed banana and cinnamon, and added carob chips and pepitas. Amazing combo!

IMG 0269

topped with some rehydrated PB2 for a little extra protein – but it didn’t really need any toppings. The carob and banana provided just the right amount of natural sweetness – I’d probably leave out the stevia next time.  I’m also going to try using oat flour next time to add a little more protein and fiber.

I attempted to stop at Protein Bar (for the first time) to pick up some lunch.

IMG 0280

Everything they made is whole, real foods, with tons of vegan options.  Unfortunately I stopped by there right when the entire working population of downtown Chicago was on their lunch break, and I didn’t have time to wait in the ridiculous line.

So instead, I grabbed some food at Pret a Manger – for the first time in Chicago.

IMG 0282

This place is a chain of really awesome sandwich shops, that again has all whole, natural, fresh foods – with great vegan options as well.  I didn’t photograph this, but I got a cup of gazpacho and a little lentil and grain salad.

When I got home, I decided to try making some chocolate covered grapes – for the first time.

IMG 0283IMG 0284IMG 0288IMG 0287IMG 0289

My friend came over, and she joined me in some of the chocolate-dipping (and chocolate tasting!) I dipped some of them in some coconut shavings as well.

Microwave Chocolate-Melting Method: place cut up chunks (or chips) in a microwave safe bowl.  Heat at 50% power in 30-second intervals, stirring in between.  Repeat until there are just a few unmelted chunks left, and keep stirring until the last little bits have melted.

After the chocolate settled, I froze them – like a chocolate covered popsicle!

On another note, today was a Green City Market Day, again!

IMG 0291

I love all the colors!

We bought more strawberries, and a block of fresh tofu – from the same stand where I got my sprouted hummus wrap last week.

IMG 0292

I’m thinking about some awesome new recipes for this guy.  Stay tuned😛

After getting home from the market, I had my pre-workout breakfast:

IMG 0293

sprouted wheat berry toast with rehydrated PB2 and cinnamon.  I’m loving cinnamon in my breakfasts lately.  It seems to keep me satisfied longer – and I’ve read somewhere that it stabilizes your blood sugar. Don’t quote me on that, but it is a definite breakfast-enhancer.

Fueled and ready to run, I went to a 45 minute treadmill class – I reached a personal high sprint speed! I was red in the face and sweaty after… In desperate need of some recovery oats! (made right before my workout)

IMG 0296

IMG 0298

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  •  2 Tbsp chia seeds
  • splash of non-dairy milk
  • 1 scoop Sun Warrior
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (adds dough-y flavor)
  • toppings of choice: fresh blueberries & melted banana (again, thanks to Katie!)

How-to: mix the oats with 1 cup water, cook in the microwave for 1.5 mins.  Mix in chia seeds, refrigerate for 1 hour. Add other stuff, and dig in!

IMG 0302

also loving these chocolate covered grapes.

Also, I’m thinking of joining the WIAW link party next week. Thoughts?

Current favorite breakfast condiment?

4 thoughts on “Firsts and Favorites

  1. You are SO sweet!!! And lol I think you’re right about the cinnamon… just don’t eat a full teaspoon straight-up, by itself. Apparently you will get sick and your throat will burn!

  2. I’ve seen pictures of those breakfast pizzerts on several blogs, and I really want to make one! Once I get some whole wheat flour, I am definitely going to make one!!

    The foods on here look so good and so healthy…I’ve been thinking about it for a while, but I really want to go vegan! I’m just not sure if my mom would let me…

    • I’m not actually vegan, but I find seeking out vegan food the best way for me to feel good about the foods in eating. I think I’m going to write something about being vegan-ish

Leave a Reply

