my mind to the world

It’s friday again! This means.. discovery post!

While nothing terribly exciting happened this week, I did find/create some awesome new things.

foodie-discovery: the perfect bowl of summer hot oats (oxymoron, right?)

IMG 0222

Strawberry Banana ‘Summer Power’ Oats

  • 3 Tbsp oat bran
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 2 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 cup almond milk (or water)
  • toppings/mix-ins: sunflower butter (current obsession), sun warrior, leftover strawberry rhubarb filling (preserves or jam would be fantastic as well), sliced banana

Directions:

Bring oat bran, chia seeds, and water to a boil in a shallow saucepan.  Add oats, cook (constantly mixing) until the oats have absorbed most (not all) of the liquid.  Let stand for a minute or two in the pan.  Dump into a bowl, add toppings, and dig in!

another foodie-discovery: PB2. This is not a new discovery, but I just got my package of this stuff in the mail.  There aren’t any stores anywhere near me that sell this stuff, so I caved and bought it online.

IMG 0236

I think this is like peanut flour, but I haven’t been able to find that anywhere, so I don’t really have anything to compare it to.  But this stuff is great for oatmeal and smoothies – and by itself, mixed with water to form a paste.  PB flavor without the extra fat.

mini self-discovery: this is also old news, but something that I rediscovered this week.  I need reflection/me time.  I went to a dance class, alone, for the first time in over a month. I accidentally left my cell phone at home, so the 3 hours (travel time included) was just me.  It was nerve-racking before the class, but it felt really great to dance again, and I felt refreshed and relaxed after – I didn’t care about not being connected to the world!

Also, I played music and sang for the first time in a while yesterday, and realized how much I miss that stuff.  I need to do this stuff more often!

Any exciting things you happened upon this week? weekend plans?

6 thoughts on “my mind to the world

  1. yes!! pb2 is like peanut floure except peanut flour just has no added sugar or salt like pb2.. i didnt like it ! peanut butter is WAY better! the choclate flava is much better tho!

  2. heya! i’m so happy for you that you were able to sing and dance. The happier I am in life, the more I sing, dance and crank up the music 🙂 Hehee! i thought you’d put mstard on your oats! 🙂

  3. Those oats look great! I love how you can have oatmeal every day yet it can be different every single time!

    I have so many different versions on my breakfast rotation and knowing I have a yummy breakfast ahead of me helps me to crawl out of bed 🙂

Leave a Reply

