Busy Rainy Tuesdays

I never thought I would say this, but thank goodness it’s Tuesday! I finally have a day off tomorrow, after working six days straight! I plan to get enough sleep, see good people, eat good food, get a good workout, and maybe some other things.

Onto more important things – like breakfast.

This is an all-time favorite of mine.  Oat bran & chia seeds cooked in unsweetened vanilla almond milk.  I add a melted banana (using Katie’s amazing melted banana trick) just before the oat bran is cooking, then top it with a dollop my favorite peanut butter.

Unsweetened, unsalted creamy goodness.  It’s surprisingly hard to find a really good peanut butter that isn’t salty or has any added sugars or oils.  Whole foods, you’ve done it again.

After my workout today – 30 min. elliptical intervals & 15 min. weight circuit – I was craving eggs and toast.  I’ve been really in the mood for eggs lately, though I have no idea why.  I’ve never really been much of an egg-eater, but oh well.

I was feeling a little lazy as well, so I went with a microwave-scrambled egg with Mrs. Dash (salt free) seasoning on TJ’s sprouted wheat-berry toast with sunflower seed butter.  It was just the right combination of creamy and savory.

I’m really excited for peach and nectarine season.  My parents brought some white nectarines back from Indiana, and I couldn’t resist.

It even looks glorious.  Not quite peak-season quality, but still delicious.

Skipping ahead a few (8? 9?) hours, I decided to stop at whole foods on my way home from work.  I ran out of my favorite soap – Dr. Bronner’s un-scented baby mild – and I was in need of some WF salad bar for dinner.

So. Good.  Mixed grains, detox salad, spring veggies, egg-less salad, on a bed of raw kale and beets with some vegan caesar dressing. Did I mention how much I love whole foods?  The (other) spoils:

  • cacao bliss coconut butter – I’m not sure why I resisted buying this before
  • medjool dates – a dessert favorite, can’t wait to eat them with some cacao bliss!
  • coconut milk – again not sure why I’ve never bought it
  • unsweetened carob chips
  • Synergy mighty mango kombucha
  • GoRaw banana ‘bread’ flax bars
  • Dr. Bronner’s un-scented baby mild 18-in-1 soap
I think I enjoy food shopping a little more than I should, especially for snack-staples.  But, tomorrow is Wednesday, and it’s the strawberry festival at the Green City Market! Storm or not, I’m pretty sure we’re going to go.
What are your favorite food related items to shop for?
4 thoughts on “Busy Rainy Tuesdays

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever made eggs in the microwave! I’ll have to try that sometime.

    I really like nectarines too! But I don’t think I’ve had one in over a year, since my mom never buys them. I’m not really sure if they’re common in Michigan or not…

    • to cook it you spray a microwave safe bowl, beat one egg in it, add spices, cover with a plate and cook for 40-60 secs. so easy, so good! also the best nectarines i’ve had around here come from southern Michigan!

  2. Rachel darling you have inspired me to get off my ass and make that blog I always said I would.

    I’m glad you’re good at buying snacks though, we’ll need to shop together next year because that is my weakness. I always get home and say “i wish I had something to snack on” but I never know what to buy that isn’t junk so I don’t end up buying anything at all.

Leave a Reply

