Project experiment, set in motion

Well, as much as I would love to post every single day, I don’t want to set unrealistic expectations for myself.  I’m going for every other day at the very least, but I’ll probably end up writing 5 or 6 days a week.  Anyway, my weekend was relatively uneventful, as expected.

Some weekend eats:

Saturday’s lunch, a big bowl ‘o greens (red leaf lettuce from the green city market) with red pepper, chick peas, tomatoes, balsamic vinegar and nutritional yeast. Love lunches like these.

This is definitely a new favorite combo. Banana with almond/cashew butter and unsweetened carob chips.  I know, carob is no chocolate, but I like the taste, and these satisfy my constant chocolate craving without feeding my addiction.  It’s fun to mix it up now and then, anyways.

This morning I made vegan lemon poppy-seed muffins from Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s cookbook Vegan Brunch.  For any vegan (or non vegan) breakfast / brunch lovers out there, this book is amazing – and I don’t usually spend money on cookbooks.  I’ve made these muffins before, and both times I substituted half the flour for whole wheat. Somehow they turned out better the first time.  I think the problem is the oven at home, since the muffins didn’t rise as much as they should have.  Oh well.  Also, I may tweak this a little, and substitute some applesauce instead of some of the oil.  Although I generally don’t reach for the ‘low-fat’ option, it slightly bothers to know the amount of oil I’m eating in these delicious muffins.  It’s an experiment 🙂

This was my whole breakfast this morning. So incredibly filling! I haven’t had eggs in a while, but I was really in the mood for an omelet this morning.  Stuffed inside this creation: mixed kale and heirloom tomatoes (both from the green city market), red bell pepper and trader joe’s Italian Meatless Sausage.  It didn’t even need spices, the soysage (I may have just made that word up…).  This was such a great veggie combo, it would probably make an awesome stir fry on its own, or maybe with some tofu.

Today was my day off from working out, and it was nice to have a rest day.  My family and I drove to the suburbs to see our newborn (4 weeks!) baby cousin. So incredibly adorable.  It was nice and sunny out today (still a little cool, but oh well).  Today’s outfit:

 

Unfortunately, my hair is not like this naturally.  It is curly and all over the place, but this is a nice change once in a while.

Now it’s off to watch the tony awards!

Anyone have any special award show traditions?

2 thoughts on “Project experiment, set in motion

  1. Those muffins look sooooo good! I don’t use cookbooks often because there are so many good recipes in the blog world. Sometimes I forget to even check my cookbooks because I always go straight to the internet! I need to spend some time going through my stash to see what good recipes I can find.

Leave a Reply

